Skip to content

One Week

February 21, 2012

Well, in one week I’ll be at staging in Georgetown, learning all about how not to die in the Caribbean and probably playing cheesy getting-to-know-you games. I love cheesy getting-to-know-you games!

I do not love packing. And I do not love saying goodbye.

My room is currently covered in a collection of clothes, cooking utensils, and cool tech gadgets. (Sorry I’m not sorry about the alliteration.) I have my suitcases sitting there to remind me how much space I have available. 80 lbs of stuff needs to fit into one rolling duffel and one regular duffel. It’s not looking easy. I always think of packing as a game of Tetris, so maybe I’ll go play some old-school block-dropping to get in the mood. Did I mention I do not love packing?

I also had yet another goodbye lunch today. I’m spending this week meeting up with people around DC and saying goodbye. I don’t actually say goodbye, preferring the much happier “See you later.” So I’m just kind of deluding myself, but that’s okay. I know today’s Peace Corps is not the Peace Corps of the 1960s–we have Skype, cell phones, and email–so it’s not like I’ll be leaving everyone I love in a clean break. But I know it will be different and strange and that will take some getting used to. Did I mention I do not love saying goodbye?

So yeah. One week to go. I have a lot to do. Best get to it.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Robin permalink
    February 22, 2012 7:04 AM

    Brendan, we are so proud of you. You are going to have a wonderful experience. Be smart – Be safe! Love, Uncle Glenn & Aunt Robin

  2. Juana permalink
    February 22, 2012 8:20 AM

    Bienvenido seas.

    I dint even know we have Peacecorp forces…

    Okey, firts thing to do: Learn spanish a la dominican way. Life is a lot easier if you do.

    Cheers!

    PD: Sory, bad english of doom.

  3. Dad permalink
    February 22, 2012 1:25 PM

    Brendan,
    did I mention I hate mailing things that were not packed?🙂
    Good luck with the final scurry around.
    Dad

Trackbacks

  1. Saying Goodbye… kind of « From Here to Bulgaria

Leave a Reply

