Skip to content

Life in Photos, Part 1

April 12, 2012

I’ve been a bit remiss in posting photos here, defeated each time by the slow internet and WordPress’s fantastically horrible photo uploading system. But I finally succeeded! Below are a smattering of photos that I’ve taken since getting to the country. Enjoy!

Vendors
People selling food at the open air market that pops up every Tuesday outside my front door.

Presidential Helicopter
The President came to my house!

President's Tent
The tent where President Leonel Fernandez spoke. And a banner from El Seibo’s mayor saying “President we will always be with you!”


Eliza, the woman who hosted me when I visited Austin in a batey. And her son, who is a complete ham.

Seba Swimming
Sebastian, my host mom’s grandson, cooling off in the pool.

Domino!
We play dominoes a lot.

Dugout
A dugout at the baseball field near my house.

Wildlife
Some horses and donkeys near the park where we play dominoes and cards.

Mountains
The view from the park near my house. The mountains around here are beautiful!

Casa Seibano
Two houses in El Seibo. The kids in the door shouted "Take my picture!" when they saw my camera, so I obliged.

Tigueraje
This dude was all about getting his picture taken. And friending me on Facebook.

Cemetery Street
The street next to the city cemetery.

Cemetery
A view of the city’s cemetery. While we were standing there looking around a guy asked us if we were there to take dead bodies out…so we left.

Colmado & Botellones
This is how everyone’s drinking water comes — in giant bottles from a colmado.

El Seibo Building
A random building in El Seibo.

Bench
A bench in the parquecito near the high school. Apparently crazy people go here (according to my host mom).

Sofa
My living room! The little glass table is where I play dominoes with the grandson. He often wins. He’s six years old.

Drying
Some clothes drying on our front porch.

Bug
This huge grasshopper was on the wall right outside my front door one morning.

Excited Seba
Sebastian, excited to see the President! His reaction: “Wow, he looks so old. He is so old in real life!”

3 Comments leave one →
  1. CindyF permalink
    April 12, 2012 1:04 PM

    Finally pictures. Thanks

  2. Chris permalink
    April 15, 2012 7:17 AM

    I have to applaud you, Brendy, because as much as I would like to do something like this, I don’t think I could. Bien hecho!

  3. May 8, 2012 9:29 PM

    Very good written article. It will be beneficial to everyone who employess it, including yours truly🙂. Keep up the good work – i will definitely read more posts.

Leave a Reply

